What I didn’t do on my summer vacation

Ah, when will I learn. I work really hard during most of the year – long days at the office, caring for my children, keeping the house (because my husband is working hard nurturing a new business), and I’m often back on the computer for work at night.  There is very little time for me to indulge my own interests.

When I take a week of vacation there are so many things I want to do, things I just don’t have the time to get around to in my day-to-day life.  I’m usually overly ambitious, so I really thought I’d toned it down in preparing for last week’s vacation.

Nevertheless, back at home and well into the daily grind, I can’t believe I didn’t:

  • Read one page of the one book I brought along
  • Write a couple of long-overdue letters (even though I brought notecards)
  • Work on the big social media project for work that I’m excited about
  • Write a single blog post

But here are some of the things I did do on my vacation:

Go white water rafting (class 3)

Ride a horse


Take a water aerobics class with my mother and sister
Learn a little more about how to use my camera; shot over 400 photos of my family
Enjoy the gorgeous landscape of the Oregon high desert

Bike over 50 miles
Learn how to use iPhoto

So while I didn’t make any headway on the activities I dream of doing when I’m at work, I did relax and exercise and try some new things.  And after all, isn’t that what vacation is all about?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

