How do you like your oatmeal?

I love oatmeal, I really do. Rolled oats and steel cut. Cooked with canned pumpkin, a little brown sugar, and spices for a yummy hot breakfast.  Uncooked stirred into plain yogurt with fruit for a satisfying snack. Mixed with butter, sugar, and cinnamon and baked over sliced apples. Oatmeal makes chocolate chip cookies chewier and smoothies thicker.

The Silver Palate has come out with a new line of whole grain breakfast cereals, which I noticed because of their endcap display at my grocery store. The cereals had some attractive promotional pricing, so I picked up a box of oats to see what made them any different from the rolled oats I usually scoop from a bin in the bulk foods aisle.  (The answer: nothing.)

Perhaps The Silver Palate’s marketing director has been reading too many salacious romance novels.  I don’t think thick and rough (trademarked, no less!) is how I’ll be asking for my oatmeal.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to How do you like your oatmeal?

  1. I like it topped with chocolate and cut into bars! It is delish! When you have the time, do drop by my space. I just made a chickpea based appetizer and would love to hear what you think.

  2. All they need is a hunk with long hair, on a stud horse, rescuing a damsel in distress! Tee hee!

    That’s certainly a unique way to market oatmeal….Recently posted a Baked Oatmeal recipe on our blog, so I wish I had been able to use this brand…the recipe would sound SO much better if it were “Thick and Rough Baked Oatmeal”…

  3. wartica says:

    Me either ; having it smooth tasting – with a.hint of cinnamon – is how I like it! Great post and I look forward to sharing more with you:)

  4. eemusings says:

    I have a love hate relationship with oats – I go through phases of loving it, then I can’t stand the sight of it for a while. I eat it liberally peppered with brown sugar…

Leave a Reply

