I wish I were a first row lady

I came across this photograph today and it made me smile.

I love the exuberance the two women in the front row are displaying, as their skirts fly up and they hold onto their hats. In their girdles and pearls they are almost childlike in their exhilaration, and despite the gray hair of middle age they have slender, muscular legs.

The pair behind them is getting more enjoyment from their friends than from the ride itself.

I almost overlooked the two women in the last row.  Their posture does not appear to be tense from trepidation, but there can be no doubt they wish to be elsewhere. They are enduring the ride.

I loved this photo so much I had to share it. I emailed it to my mother and sisters, and I emailed it to a group of girlfriends, asking “Which row are you?”  and adding “I wish I were a first row lady but I’m afraid I’m more of a second row lady.”

My friends and family all mistook the metaphorical nature of my question, although now I know who is a daredevil and who is white-knuckled on amusement park rides.

Of course what I really meant was “how do you live your life?”

Perhaps that was an unfair question to ask, but I was so struck by the ladies in the front row. I want to approach life with their playfulness – laughing out loud and holding down my skirt while my hat is clutched between my knees. But I fear that I’m more of a second row lady – cautious, observant, even yearning.

This photo inspires me, and I guess that’s why I kept opening it up today to look at it and smile.  I want to be a first row lady!

image source unknown
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to I wish I were a first row lady

  1. I think I had the same reaction as you to this photo. I love it so much, I must pinterest this post. :)

  2. kristina says:

    I love this post so much. The picture, your question. All of it.

    Thank you for sharing this with us.

    ps. I must try this first row lady lifestyle. It looks way more fun than the third row!

  3. Wow… the picture says it all. I’ve sort of been in the last row lately and not liking it. Trying to figure some things out.
    Wonderful photo.

  4. 40 is the new 13 says:

    What a great photo, and even better question! I’d have to say I’m a second rower. Definitely not as adventurous as those front row gals. Where in the world did you find this image? Just love it. So happy to have found your blog… thanks for the follow!

    • Thanks for the compliment. I saw the photo on Pinterest and looked everywhere to try to find a source or owner. I would love to know why all of these ladies were riding the roller coaster, why the 3rd row ladies went on the ride even thought it looks like they didn’t want to.

  5. Anna says:

    I would be a front row lady if you were next to me. The right gals bring out the fun in me!
    Love, love, love your blog. Just catching up now!

Leave a Reply

